Communist Posters

One of my Vietnamese friends gave me an early Teacher’s Day gift on Saturday: a 2014 calender of Communist Posters. He’d heard that the posters were popular souvenirs amongst foreigners and I have to say I was touched by his gesture.

Putting all politics aside, I think the posters are really quite beautiful to look at. I’m even more thankful for this gift as it’s jolted me into appreciating my surroundings a little more. After developing the inevitable monotonous routine, I’ve become ignorant to the things that interested and captivated me when I first expatriated to HCMC. Posters, like these from the calender, are littered along the streets of down-town Saigon and they definitely make for a colourful walk to and from work.

All photos belong to CoKerri. Please report if you find these used on any other website.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. richardhartjacksonart
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 20:37:51

    I think the posters are lovely. I have seen many of them before during my several visits to Vietnam, usually in Hanoi.

    Reply

  2. Curious&Nomadic
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 17:15:58

    Love seeing these all over HCMC. It’s great that something that has so much negetivity attached to it can be transformed into widespread art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

