Roses Are Red

I’ve largely been focusing on pronunciation and phonetics in my classes this past week, as all my students have their ‘dreaded’ oral tests next week. And after the shocking performance of last month’s tests (here) I’m determined to bring home some high scoring results this time.

The students really struggle with pronunciation; the sounds that tend to elude them the most include; Th, Ch, Sh and any word that ends in S or a hard consonant. As a result, lessons on the subject can become really quite tedious for them. So to help ease their boredom a little, I usually have a few extra activities up my sleeve. Tongue twisters are my first point of call, but they don’t make for an interesting blog entry. So we’ll move onto my next ‘golden nugget’; poetry. Now, I’m no Shakespeare, but I’ve studied enough of the genre to know that ‘Roses Are Red’ is a true classic (ehem).

So, it goes a little like this. I put the basic structure on the board:

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

You are beautiful,

And I love you!

Then, after explaining that you must only change the final two lines, and that the final word must rhyme with ‘blue’, I leave them to create their own versions in pairs. Here are some of the results (some more entertaining than others):

1: Lack of Imagination

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

You are gorgeous,

And I like you!

2: Tear Jerker

 Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

You broke my heart,

Now I hate you!

3: Sweet Dreams

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

I met Brad Pitt last night,

I want dream to come true!

4: Animal Instinct

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

You are crazy,

Like monkey in the zoo!

5: Food for thought

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

I like pizza,

And hamburgers too!

6: Macabre

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

You kissed her?

I kill you!

7: Fashion, Darling

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

Sandals are comfortable,

But I like high heel shoe!

8: Lost the Memo

Roses are pink,

Violets are white,

I love you,

You love me!

Their homework is to create their own 4 line poem which includes at least 2 lines of rhyme. I’m sure these will be even more entertaining, so look out for a follow up.

In the meantime, here’s a little flashback for you to enjoy …

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Expat Eye
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 14:05:54

    Love no. 6!

    Reply

  2. josephdwoods
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 19:46:54

    These are fantastic, I may have to steal this idea. Reading your blog, it sounds like we’re in the same boat. We’re teaching English in Thu Dau Mot, just outside of HCM, for a local university. Perhaps we should try to meet up when we visit HCM, and we could show you around here?

    Reply

    • kerril29
      Sep 27, 2013 @ 22:01:23

      Haha please do, steal away! I’ve never actually heard of Thu Dau Mot, is it a big place? A meet up sounds good, you’ll have to let me know when you’re next in town 🙂 thanks for taking the time to comment!

      Reply

  3. noelleisme
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 21:41:23

    I ❤ reading your post about the way to improve our foreign language and also those post about your memories about your teaching time, so much fun and I was enthralled! I have problem with "s" too and I am still practicing it everyday 😀 It's much better…but my teacher of English told us to keep repeating number 6 over time…We started with 6…66…666…6666 😀 Hard to do 😀

    Reply

    • kerril29
      Sep 28, 2013 @ 21:46:55

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it 🙂 for the pronunciation of ‘s’, I think it’s always good to say ‘6’ and ‘sick’ lots of times – this will help your pronunciation a lot! If you feel you need any advice or help, please feel free to email me 😀

      Reply

      • noelleisme
        Sep 29, 2013 @ 19:32:42

        Oh thanks for your friendly ^^
        I am still studying on my own, those post are helpful for me. I wish I was your student someday 😉

      • kerril29
        Sep 29, 2013 @ 21:31:43

        You should come and study at CEFALT one day – the tuition fee is cheap and I could teach you 🙂

      • noelleisme
        Oct 05, 2013 @ 15:43:05

        No matter that the fee is cheap or not! I care about the quality of the course especially their great teachers ^^
        Yeah I will save $ to be there one day (if you are still in HCM). ^^ I ❤ learning English and always ready to be trained 24/7 😀
        P/s: I am making hard to access WordPress 😦 , I hate fixing it.

  4. jashuynh
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:23:46

    No.6, hilarious :))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

